BRANDS IN GAMES – A NEW PLAYGROUND IN BRAND DEVELOPMENT

July 29th 2020 / 3.30 - 5 pm

Gaming is the most underrated megatrend. With an industry turnover of 183 billion US dollars in 2019, the games industry has become a constant in economic terms. In comparison: The music industry has a turnover of just 16 billion US dollars. How does a brand become relevant in the gaming world?

The over 2.2 billion users worldwide have become influential trendsetters. With completely new revenue models, the games industry is revolutionizing the relationship with its users and is thus becoming the pace-setter for other industries. Gaming will have a particularly strong impact on the brand world. Recognising the effects and potential of games at an early stage will be critical to the success of brand managers. It is essential to reach this enormously influential target group early and to keep them on the game permanently.

Strichpunkt has been the branding lead agency of the DFB (German Football Association) for over 4 years and is responsible for the implementation and management of new and existing brands. With the eFootball brand and the associated eNationalteam and ePokal brands, the DFB aims to develop the fast-growing gaming business field and has created a strategic and visual flagship together with Strichpunkt. On July 29th 2020 at 3:30 pm, together with Holger Merk, Senior Head of Strategic Marketing, DFB, we will provide exciting insights on the topic "Brands In Games - A New Playground In Brand Development".


What do we want to convey in the 90 minute livestream?

  • Numbers, dates, facts: Introducing the world of games.
  • What makes gaming so interesting?
  • Gaming as a unique selling point in brand strategies.
  • An excursion into the games ecosystem: Of Twitch, Steam and other giants.
  • What can we learn from Game Development? Gamification vs Games as a Medium.
  • Case Study: How the DFB developed its eFootball brands and established them in the gaming scene.
  • Q&A: Of course there will be enough time to answer your questions.

This livestream is not exclusively for soccer fans! You should definitely take part if...

  • you are a newbie looking for an introduction to the world of gaming.
  • you want to know how brands are built up in the gaming environment and how they establish relevance.
  • you as a brand manager and strategist are looking for THE unique selling proposition for your brand.

Our experts:

Holger Merk is Senior Head of Strategic Marketing at DFB GmbH. Here he is responsible for the DFB's brand management and product management. The brand management includes all DFB brands such as DIE MANNSCHAFT or DFB-Pokal, but also the 3rd league and the eFOOTBALL brand world as well as FUSSBALL.de, the digital home of German amateur football. Product management includes the (further) development of existing and potential business areas in the fields of media rights, sponsoring, merchandising & licenses as well as ticketing & hospitality.

Markus Dunke manages the Strichpunkt Studio in Stuttgart and is a member of the management Markus has completed many professional stations abroad during his career: London, Shanghai, Beijing, New York. Markus develops, supports and advises brands and sees the gaming interface as an essential building block for future brand success.

Dr. Andreas Stiegler works as Creative Technologist at Strichpunkt. In his role he is engaged in the fusion of know-how from branding and design as well as game development and AI. With a PhD in Game-AI, he is dedicated not only to technological integration, but also to creative topics. A good match as Strichpunkt already works intensively with technologies from game development (Virtual Reality, Artificial Intelligence, ...) - but also with 'soft' topics such as game design, community management, esports and more. In addition, Dr. Andreas Stiegler is a lecturer for Game Physics and Game AI at the Hochschule der Medien in Stuttgart.

As project manager at Strichpunkt, Leon Bauer is responsible for the DFB, among others. For several years now, he has managed all projects at the agency's Berlin location as the DFB's branding lead agency. This includes both the further development of existing brands and the development of new brands such as DFB eFootball as well as the application of the corporate design to various analogue and digital touchpoints. When it comes to the fun and love of (analogue and digital) football, the lines between professional and private life become blurred.




Missed the Webinar? No problem! Sign up for our SP Newsletter an receive all our event-invitations in time. Sign up!

BRANDS IN GAMES – A NEW PLAYGROUND IN BRAND DEVELOPMENT

29. Juli 2020 / 15:30 Uhr – 17 Uhr

Gaming ist der am meisten unterschätzte Megatrend. Mit einem Branchenumsatz von 183 Milliarden US-Dollar in 2019, hat sich die Games Industry auch ökonomisch zu einer festen Größe entwickelt. Im Vergleich: Die Musikindustrie liegt gerade mal bei 16 Milliarden US-Dollar Umsatz. Wie wird eine Marke in der Gaming Welt relevant?

Die über 2,2 Milliarden Nutzer weltweit haben sich zu einflussreichen Trendsettern entwickelt. Die Games Industry revolutioniert mit vollkommen neuen Erlösmodellen die Beziehung zu seinen Nutzern und wird so zum Taktgeber für andere Branchen. Gaming wird insbesondere die Markenwelt sehr stark beeinflussen. Die Auswirkungen und Potenziale von Games frühzeitig zu erkennen, wird für Marken Entscheider erfolgskritisch. Es gilt diese enorm einflussreiche Zielgruppe frühzeitig zu erschließen und dauerhaft am Ball zu bleiben.

Strichpunkt ist seit über 4 Jahren Jahren Branding Lead Agentur des DFB (Deutscher Fußball-Bund e.V.) und verantwortet die Umsetzung und Betreuung neuer und bestehender Marken. Mit der Marke eFootball sowie den dazugehörigen Marken eNationalmannschaft und ePokal möchte der DFB das wachstumsstarke Geschäftsfeld Gaming erschließen und hat gemeinsam mit Strichpunkt ein strategisches und visuelles Aushängeschild geschaffen. Am 29. Juli 2020 um 15:30 Uhr geben wir gemeinsam mit Holger Merk, Senior Head of Strategic Marketing, DFB spannende Einblicke in das Thema “Brands In Games – A New Playground In Brand Development”.



Was wir in dem 90 minütigen Livestream vermitteln möchten?

  • Zahlen, Daten, Fakten: Einführung in die Welt der Games.
  • Was macht Gaming so interessant?
  • Gaming als Alleinstellungsmerkmal in der Markenstrategie.
  • Ein Ausflug in das Games Ökosystem: Von Twitch, Steam und anderen Riesen.
  • Was können wir von Game Development lernen? Gamification vs Games as a Medium.
  • Case Study: Wie der DFB seine eFootball Marken entwickelt und in der Gaming Szene
  • etabliert hat.
  • Q&A: Natürlich gibt es ausreichend Zeit, um Ihre Fragen zu beantworten


Dieser Livestream ist nicht nur für Fußballfans interessant! Sie sollten unbedingt dabei sein, wenn...

  • Sie als Neuling nach einer Einführung in die Welt des Gamings suchen.
  • Sie wissen möchten, wie Marken im Gaming-Umfeld aufgebaut werden und Relevanz aufbauen.
  • Sie als Markenverantwortlicher und -stratege DAS Alleinstellungsmerkmal für ihre Brand suchen.


Unsere Experten:

Holger Merk ist Senior Head of Strategic Marketing bei der DFB GmbH. Hier ist er für das Brand Management und das Produkt Management des DFB verantwortlich. Die Markenführung umfasst alle DFB-Marken wie bspw. DIE MANNSCHAFT oder den DFB-Pokal aber auch die 3.Liga und die eFOOTBALL-Markenwelt sowie FUSSBALL.de, die digitale Heimat des deutschen Amateurfußballs. Das Produkt Management umfasst die (Weiter-)Entwicklung von bestehenden und potentiellen Geschäftsfeldern in den Bereichen Medienrechte, Sponsoring, Merchandising & Lizenzen sowie Ticketing & Hospitality.

Markus Dunke leitet das Strichpunkt Studio in Stuttgart und ist Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung. Markus hat in seiner Laufbahn viele beruflichen Stationen im Ausland absolviert: London, Shanghai, Beijing, New York. Markus entwickelt, betreut und berät Marken und sieht die Schnittstelle Gaming als einen essentiellen Baustein für den Markenerfolg der Zukunft.

Dr. Andreas Stiegler ist Creative Technologist bei Strichpunkt. Er beschäftigt sich mit der Fusion von Know-How aus dem Branding und Design sowie der Spiele-Entwicklung und Artificial Intelligence. Mit einer Promotion in Game-AI widmet er sich nicht nur technologischen, sondern auch kreativen Themen. Strichpunkt arbeitet bereits intensiv mit Technologien aus der Spiele-Entwicklung - weiterhin aber auch mit 'soften' Themen wie Game Design, Community Management und vielem mehr, wie sie beispielsweise im eSport anzutreffen sind. Dr. Andreas Stiegler ist außerdem als Dozent für Game-Physics und Game-AI an der Hochschule der Medien in Stuttgart tätig.

Leon Bauer betreut als Projektmanager bei Strichpunkt unter Anderem den DFB. Seit mehreren Jahren leitet er am Berliner Standort der Agentur alle Projekte im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit als Branding Lead Agentur des DFB. Dazu gehören sowohl die Weiterentwicklung bestehender Marken und die Entwicklung neuer Marken(-welten) wie zum Beispiel DFB eFootball, als auch die Anwendung des Corporate Designs auf diversen analogen und digitalen Touchpoints. Was den Spaß am und die Liebe zum (analogen und digitalen) Fußball angeht, verschwimmen bei ihm die Grenzen zwischen beruflich und privat.



Webinar verpasst? Kein Problem! Melden Sie sich einfach für unseren Newsletter an und erhalten Sie Einladungen zu all unseren SP-Events. Hier geht's zur Newsletter-Anmeldung.