Online Session Excubate x SP -

Corporate Startups

From the idea, to the spin-off, to the brand development. A 60-minute bootcamp on March 11, 2021 at 9 am (english) and 5 pm (german). Sign up now!

Spontaneous?  This is your shortcut to the registration page.

The Corona crisis and the associated changes appear to be accelerating transformation projects of many companies. Driven by the high dynamics in the markets and new disruptive competitors, established companies have to prove their speed of innovation more than ever before.
But not only since Clayton M. Christensen`s book "The Innovator's Dilemma" is it known how difficult it is for traditional companies to reshape their future.
For some years now, the establishment of new, separately operating subsidiaries ("corporate startups") has been a successful approach for many corporations, but also for medium-sized companies. In some cases, startups are "produced" in corporate incubators as if on an assembly line - at least in theory.
But what is easily explained on PowerPoint slides for the board of directors becomes a Herculean task, especially when it comes to implementation. Especially when the company lacks the necessary experience. The goal of combining the best of both worlds - the agility and courage of a startup with the experience and resources of a corporation - is often missed.

In a joint online session with our cooperation partner Excubate, we would like to provide an insight into this enormously important field of action. The topics of brand architecture & branding are on the agenda as well as insights into individual corporate startups and common excubation models.

Are you in?
Corporate Startups - from the idea, to the spin-off, to the brand development
A 60-minute bootcamp / March 11, 2021 / 9 am (english session) and 5 pm (german session)

Topics of the online session:

  • What defines corporate innovation and how does a corporate startup differ from a typical startup?
  • What factors determine the success of a Corporate Startup and how can they be addressed?
  • How does the excubation model work as a repeatable approach to building corporate startups?
  • How do you successfully build a startup brand?
  • Why a "Minimal Viable Brand" is so important in this setup to prevent million-dollar graves.

    For whom this online session is interesting:
  • Managing directors and executives in medium-sized and large companies and corporations
  • Executives in corporate strategy, innovation and digitalization
  • Executives in corporate startups who want to make their collaboration with the corporation more effective
  • Brand decision makers facing the challenge of bringing a startup brand to market in an integrated model

Register for the online session:

The hosts:
Dr. Markus Anding - co-founder and managing director of Excubate Corporate Startups. Markus and his team support established companies in the development, implementation and scaling of new business models in the form of corporate startups, where he also takes on entrepreneurial co-responsibility. The business information scientist founded his first company in 2000 as a software-as-a-service provider for medium-sized companies. After 12 years at Bain & Company, during which he advised telecommunications and technology companies in Europe, the USA and Australia, among others, and founded a startup in the real estate sector, Markus started the management consultancy Excubate with a partner and expanded it to currently 25 employees. In addition to digitizing the core business of his clients, Markus focuses on building digital (software) business models and the corresponding further development of the Excubate model.

Philipp Brune – CEO Strichpunkt.
In recent years, Philipp has accompanied many brands in Germany and abroad through large and complex transformations and change processes. But he has also supported a large number of startups on their journey. He wants to encourage companies to embrace change and will share some success factors to do so. The more integrated a company approaches the topic of startups, the greater the chances of success.


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Cornelia Pless (c.pless@sp.design).

We're looking forward to  your registration

Online Session Excubate x SP -

Corporate Startups

Von der Idee, über die Ausgründung, bis zum Markenaufbau. Ein 60-minütiges Bootcamp am 11.03.2021 um 09:00 Uhr (englisch) und 17:00 Uhr (deutsch) - jetzt anmelden!

Spontan?  Hier gehts direkt zur Anmeldung!

Die Corona-Krise und die damit verbundenen Veränderungen wirken wie ein Brandbeschleuniger auf die Transformationsprojekte vieler Unternehmen. Getrieben durch die hohe Dynamik in den Märkten und neue disruptive Wettbewerber, müssen etablierte Unternehmen mehr denn je ihre Innovationsgeschwindigkeit unter Beweis stellen. Doch nicht erst seit Clayton M. Christensen`s Buch “The Innovator's Dilemma” ist bekannt, wie schwer es etablierten Unternehmen fällt, ihre Zukunft neu zu gestalten.
Der Aufbau von neuen, separat agierenden Tochterunternehmen („Corporate Startups“) hat sich seit einigen Jahren als erfolgreicher Weg für viele Konzerne, aber auch für Mittelständler etabliert. Teilweise werden in unternehmenseigenen Inkubatoren “eigene” Startups wie am Fließband produziert - zumindest in der Theorie.
Doch was auf Powerpoint Folien für den Vorstand leicht erklärt ist, wird gerade in der Umsetzung zu einer Herkulesaufgabe, gerade wenn im Unternehmen die nötige Erfahrung fehlt. Das Ziel, das Beste aus beiden Welten zu verbinden – die Agilität und den Mut eines Startups mit der Erfahrung und den Ressourcen eines Konzerns – wird häufig verfehlt.

In einer gemeinsamen Online Session mit unserem Kooperationspartner Excubate möchten wir einen Einblick in dieses enorm wichtige Handlungsfeld geben. Die Themen Markenarchitektur & Branding stehen genauso auf der Agenda wie der Einblick in einzelne Corporate Startups und gängige Excubationsmodelle.

Sind Sie dabei?
Corporate Startups - von der Idee, über die Ausgründung bis zum Markenaufbau
Ein 60-minütiges Bootcamp am 11.03.2021 um 09:00 Uhr (englische Session) und um 17:00 Uhr (deutsche Session)

Die Fragen:

  • Was macht Corporate Innovation aus, und wie unterscheidet sich ein Corporate Startup von einem klassischen Startup?
  • Welche Faktoren bestimmen den Erfolg eines Corporate Startups, und wie können sie adressiert werden?
  • Wie funktioniert das Excubationsmodell als wiederholbarer Ansatz zum Aufbau von Corporate Startups?
  • Wie baut man erfolgreich eine Startup Marke auf?
  • Warum eine “Minimal Viable Brand” in diesem Setup so wichtig ist, um Millionengräber im Markt zu verhindern.

    Für wen diese Online Session wichtig ist:
  • Geschäftsführer und Führungskräfte in mittelständischen und großen Unternehmen und Konzernen
  • Führungskräfte in den Bereichen Unternehmensstrategie, Innovation und Digitalisierung
  • Führungskräfte in Corporate Startups, die ihre Zusammenarbeit mit dem Konzern effektiver gestalten wollen
  • Markenentscheider, die vor der Herausforderung stehen, eine Startup Brand in einem integrierten Modell an den Markt zu bringen

Jetzt hier zur Online Session anmelden:

Die Gastgeber:
Dr. Markus Anding - Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer von Excubate Corporate Startups. Markus unterstützt mit seinem Team etablierte Unternehmen bei der Entwicklung, Umsetzung und Skalierung neuer Geschäftsmodelle in Form von Corporate Startups und übernimmt dort auch unternehmerische Mitverantwortung. Sein erstes Unternehmen gründete der Wirtschaftsinformatiker im Jahr 2000 als Software-as-a-Service Dienstleister für Mittelständler. Nach 12 Jahren bei Bain & Company, in denen er in Europa, USA und Australien u.a. Telekommunikations- und Technologieunternehmen beraten hat, und Gründung eines Startups im Immobilienbereich, hat Markus mit einem Partner die Managementberatung Excubate gestartet und auf aktuell 25 Mitarbeiter ausgebaut. Neben der Digitalisierung des Kerngeschäfts seiner Kunden fokussiert sich Markus auf den Aufbau digitaler (Software-)Geschäftsmodelle und die entsprechende Weiterentwicklung des Excubationsmodells.

Philipp Brune – Geschäftsführer der Branding- und Designagentur Strichpunkt. Philipp hat in den letzten Jahren viele Marken im In- und Ausland bei großen und komplexen Transformationen und Change-Prozessen begleitet. Er hat aber auch eine Vielzahl von Startups auf ihrem Weg unterstützt. Er möchte Unternehmen dazu ermutigen, den Wandel anzugehen und wird hierzu einige Erfolgsfaktoren teilen. Je integrierter ein Unternehmen das Thema Startups angeht, desto größer sind die Erfolgsaussichten.


Wenn Sie Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich gerne direkt an Cornelia Pless (c.pless@sp.design)

Wir freuen uns auf  Ihre Teilnahme!