SP Sustainability Talk #1

Christian Kroll, Founder and CEO of Ecosia

/feed/strichpunkt-sustainability-talk-1.jpg

The search engine operator Ecosia has planted more than 150 million trees around the world to date. The Berlin-based start-up invests all profits in tree planting and renewable energies. In our SP Sustainability Talk#1, Ecosia founder Christian Kroll explains how his company wants to challenge Google and make a real difference.

Whether you read the interview first and then set up Ecosia as your search engine or the other way around - your choice ;-) Plus, if you want to know more about the purpose company Ecosia and the business model - the FAQ page is super informative.


Christian, the revenue that your competitor Google makes, is 8000 times larger than yours. Where do you see opportunities to be able to compete against such an industry giant?
If you can build a competitive edge, it can become possible for a small firm to compete against the biggest players. It's a David against Goliath situation. Our differentiator is that we invest 100% of our profits in planting trees as well as renewable energy projects. Whenever you use Ecosia, you automatically contribute to the fight against climate change. The more people become aware of the severity and significance of the climate crisis, the larger our competitive edge grows.


„Companies will no longer be measured on profits and countries, not on their GDP. They will be measured by how they can contribute to the well-being of our planet and its inhabitants. If you understand that early enough and act accordingly, you will build a competitive edge as well.“

Christian Kroll,
on the question of "How far-reaching do you see the change that we witness at the moment?"




What does it tell about the power of change, when a Start-up such as Ecosia can raise enough money to plant over 150 million trees?
A lot is possible. You just need a good idea and passionate people around you, who support you and join along the way. It always seems impossible until it's done.

How far-reaching do you see the change that we witness at the moment?
We witness a fundamental transformation of our society. A shift away from the systematic destruction of our planet, but towards regeneration and restoration. The measures of success will change as well. Companies will no longer be measured on profits and countries, not on their GDP. They will be measured by how they can contribute to the well-being of our planet and its inhabitants. If you understand that early enough and act accordingly, you will build a competitive edge as well.

Many large corporations implement carbon neutrality in their reports and strategies. Why is it not enough?
Climate-neutral companies are maybe not a part of the problem anymore, but also do not contribute to solving the problem. Not to forget about the fact that the climate goals of many companies show a lack of ambition or only look good on the surface. We have to change the narrative. Climate-neutral and net zero will not solve the issue. Instead, we need to ask ourselves the questions: How can we contribute the most to solve the situation? Not in 2050, but how much can we do here and now?


„If you don't act now, you will go under. That's the bad news. The good news is that every single company can decide to do the right thing now.“

Christian Kroll,
on the question of "Is Business as usual still an option for companies?"




Is Business as usual still an option for companies?
To answer this question, I will draw a comparison to the process of digitalization. If you had asked a manager of a German car manufacturer in 2010 about the significance of digitalization, most would have probably ranked it as not very important. The result: The German automotive sector fell behind and got taken over by manufacturers that built the competitive edge early. It will be the same for the decarbonization of our economy. If you don't act now, you will go under. That's the bad news. The good news is that every single company can decide to do the right thing now.

Where do you see Ecosia in ten years?
At the moment, we hold a market share of one percent in Germany. By 2030, I am confident that we can extend that to 10 percent. We want to put as much pressure as possible on Google, to do the right thing, too. We would not mind if they copied our business model. It would be great. If Google invested its profits in renewable energy, it would mean a big step towards solving the problem.


Christian Kroll

is the founder and CEO of Ecosia, a search engine provider based in Berlin.
The Start-up employs approx. 100 people and invests 100% of its profits into planting trees and renewable energy projects. About every second, one tree is financed by Ecosia.

SP Sustainability Talk #1

Christian Kroll, Gründer und CEO Ecosia

/feed/strichpunkt-sustainability-talk-1.jpg

Mehr als 150 Millionen Bäume hat der Suchmaschinenbetreiber Ecosia bis heute in aller Welt gepflanzt. Das Berliner Start-up investiert sämtliche Gewinne in Baumpflanzungen und erneuerbare Energien. Wie er mit seinem Impact-Unternehmen Google herausfordern und einen echten Unterschied machen will, erklärt Ecosia-Gründer Christian Kroll im SP Sustainability Talk#1

Ob ihr erst das Interview lest und dann Ecosia als Suchmaschine einrichtet oder andersrum - your choice. 😉 Wenn ihr mehr über die Purpose Company Ecosia und das Geschäftsmodell wissen wollt, schaut gerne mal auf der FAQ Seite vorbei.


Christian, der Umsatz eures Wettbewerbers Google ist 8000 Mal so groß wie eurer. Welche Chance hat ein Newcomer wie ihr überhaupt gegen einen solchen Riesen?
Mit einem entsprechendem Wettbewerbsvorteil kann auch ein David gegen einen Goliath gewinnen. Unserer liegt darin, dass wir 100 % unseres Gewinns in Baumpflanzungen und erneuerbare Energien investieren. Wer mit Ecosia sucht, tut automatisch etwas gegen den Klimawandel. Je mehr Menschen klar wird, wie essenziell die Klimakrise ist, umso stärker werden wir unseren Wettbewerbsvorteil ausspielen.


„Statt an Parametern wie Gewinn und Bruttoinlandsprodukt, werden wir Unternehmen in Zukunft eher daran messen, wie viel sie zum Wohlergehen unseres Planeten und seiner Bewohner beitragen. Wer dies früher erkennt und danach handelt, hat einen Wettbewerbsvorteil.“

Christian Kroll,
auf die Frage "Wie weitreichend ist denn der Wandel, den wir gerade miterleben?"




Was sagt es über Veränderungsmacht, wenn ein Start-up wie ihr innerhalb weniger Jahre Geld für 150 Millionen Bäume einsammeln kann?
Dass enorm viel möglich ist, wenn Du eine gute Idee und gute Leute hast. It always seems impossible until it’s done.

Wie weitreichend ist denn der Wandel, den wir gerade miterleben?
Wir erleben gerade eine fundamentale Transformation unserer Gesellschaft: Weg von der Zerstörung unseres Planeten, hin zu seiner Regeneration. Statt an Parametern wie Gewinn und Bruttoinlandsprodukt, werden wir Unternehmen in Zukunft eher daran messen, wie viel sie zum Wohlergehen unseres Planeten und seiner Bewohner beitragen. Wer dies früher erkennt und danach handelt, hat einen Wettbewerbsvorteil.

Wieso reicht es nicht, Klimaneutralität anzustreben, wie es momentan so viele Unternehmen tun?
Wer klimaneutral ist, ist vielleicht nicht mehr Teil des Problems, aber eben auch kein Teil der Lösung. Abgesehen davon, dass die Klimaziele vieler Unternehmen viel zu unambitioniert und bei genauerer Prüfung auch gar nicht stichhaltig sind. Wir müssen aber mehr reparieren, als wir zerstören. Mit Blick auf die Klimakrise heißt das: Wir müssen uns vom Gedanken „klimaneutral“ und der großen „Null“ lösen und uns fragen: Welchen maximalen Beitrag können wir jetzt leisten? Und zwar nicht 2050, sondern hier und jetzt?


„Wer sich jetzt nicht bewegt, geht früher oder später unter. Das ist die schlechte Nachricht. Die gute lautet: Es liegt in den Händen jedes einzelnen Unternehmens, hier und heute das Richtige zu tun.“

Christian Kroll,
auf die Frage "Ist Business as usual noch eine Option für Unternehmen?"




Ist Business as usual noch eine Option für Unternehmen?
Die Frage ist etwa so, als hätte man einen deutschen Automobilmanager im Jahr 2010 gefragt, wie wichtig für seine Branche denn die Digitalisierung sei. „Geht so“, hätte wahrscheinlich die ehrliche Antwort gelautet. Die Folge: die deutsche Automobilindustrie hat die Digitalisierung verschlafen und sich die Butter vom Brot nehmen lassen. Genauso ist es jetzt mit der Dekarbonisierung der Wirtschaft: Wer sich jetzt nicht bewegt, geht früher oder später unter. Das ist die schlechte Nachricht. Die gute lautet: Es liegt in den Händen jedes einzelnen Unternehmens, hier und heute das Richtige zu tun.

Wo steht Ecosia in zehn Jahren?
Aktuell haben wir in Deutschland einen Marktanteil von einem Prozent, 2030 könnten es durchaus 10 Prozent sein. Wir wollen so viel wie möglich Druck auf Google ausüben. Und ganz ehrlich: Wir fänden es großartig, wenn die unser Modell kopieren würden. Wenn Google seine Gewinne in erneuerbare Energien investieren würde, wäre ein guter Teil des Problems gelöst.


Christian Kroll

ist Gründer und CEO des Suchmaschinenbetreibers Ecosia. Das Berliner Start-up beschäftigt rund 100 Menschen und setzt 100 % seines Gewinns für Baumpflanzungen und erneuerbare Energien ein. Ecosia finanziert etwa jede Sekunde die Pflanzung eines neuen Baums. Christian war als Experte zu Gast bei der Strichpunkt Online Session „Sustainable Brand Leadership: Wie Marken nachhaltig erfolgreich werden“. Hier geht’s zur Aufzeichnung der Session.