Talking to Markus

With his personal goal of traveling to outer space before 2050, Markus Dunke’s present focus is on pushing our agency to new heights as part of the management team and studio lead at Strichpunkt Stuttgart. Having lived in more than ten countries while spending over a decade in Asia, he strives to combine culture, strategy and creativity to stay one step ahead of the game. Before Markus came to Strichpunkt in mid-2016 he worked as a senior partner for the London-based strategy agency Truth Consulting, where he advised global clients such as PepsiCo, Heathrow Airport and Barclays. Before that he led the Beijing office for the management consultancy globeone, where he had a strong focus on strategic consultation for major automobile brands like Volkswagen.

SP: Markus, what makes a brand great for you?
Markus: When you don't think about your relationship with the brand, when it's just there as a part of life: From Spotify, Instagram to Tik Tok, Coke or McDonald's, from Nike to Louis Vuitton, Zewa or the Rügenwalder Mühle.
 
SP: What can Germans learn from the Chinese?
Markus: It’s interesting to think about “what country A can learn from country B?”. But when you do that you have to think in terms of cultures, not in terms of national borders – which is crucial when you’re looking at countries like China or India. So what can we learn from Chinese culture? There’s so much, but there’s one thing that really stands out: courage. The courage to try new things; the courage to just get started and set things in motion; leaving your comfort zone and committing to radical change. The development of Weltmeister Motor is a perfect example to me.
 
SP: What do you think characterizes a successful project culture?
Markus: Clarity, openness, personal responsibility. As long as those three things are given, there’s not a whole lot that can go wrong. We’ve had so many great projects and great clients, I’d like to give a shout out to all of them here “Thank you!”.
 
SP: What kind of clients excite you?
Markus: The focus is always on the topic and the task. For me, enjoyable projects and topics always depend on two parameters. First, the collaboration between the client and the agency. And second, the pursuit of excellence, the drive to create something outstanding and unique together.
 
SP: Are there any specific brands that you would like to work for?
Markus: Everyone with ambitious goals. With people who enjoy what they do. Everything motorsports-related, whether it’s manufacturers like BMW Motorrad, KTM, Triumph or organizers like Dorna, these are very dear to me personally.
 
SP: Why do you like coming to work in the morning?
Markus: Because it’s awesome.
 
SP: Why should we be optimistic about the future?
Markus: We live in really exciting times, at the intersection of globalization and digitization, wealth and poverty, pandemic and politics. There are so many interesting and pressing issues and challenges for us to tackle. Let’s get to it!
 
SP: What does courage mean for you personally?
Markus: Courage needs fear, which you have to overcome. That's why an inspiring vision should always excite and thrill you - but also scare you a little bit.

Become part of

our Team

find our open positions here

Talking to Markus

Mit dem festen Plan, noch vor 2050 ins Weltall zu fliegen, treibt Markus als Teil des Führungsteams bei Strichpunkt die Agentur konsequent voran. Er leitet unser Studio Stuttgart. Nachdem er in mehr als zehn Ländern und über ein Jahrzehnt in Asien gelebt hat, ist es sein Ziel, Kultur, Strategie und Kreativität zu verschmelzen und so immer einen Schritt voraus zu sein. Bevor Markus Dunke Mitte 2016 zu Strichpunkt kam, war er als Senior Partner für die Londoner Strategieagentur Truth Consulting tätig, wo er globale Kunden wie PepsiCo, Heathrow Airport oder Barclays betreute. Zuvor leitete er das Büro der Unternehmensberatung globeone in Peking, wo er insbesondere für Strategiethemen großer Automobilmarken wie VW verantwortlich war.

SP: Markus, was macht eine großartige Marke für dich aus?
Markus: Man denkt nicht über die Beziehung mit der Marke nach, sie ist einfach gegeben. Sie ist ein Teil deines Lebens: Von Spotify, Instagram zu Tik Tok, Coke oder McDonald's, von Nike zu Louis Vuitton, Zewa oder die Rügenwalder Mühle.
 
SP: Was können die Deutschen von den Chinesen lernen?
Markus: Ich mag dieses “was kann Land A von Land B lernen?”. Aber man muss in Kulturen denken, nicht in Ländergrenzen, das ist besonders essentiell, wenn man auf Länder wie China oder Indien guckt. Was können wir also aus dem chinesischen Kulturkreis lernen? Es gibt so viel, aber ich möchte nur eines nennen: Mut. Mut, Neues zu probieren; Mut, einfach anzufangen; Mut, sich aus seiner eigenen Komfortzone zu bewegen, und Mut zu radikaler Veränderung. WM Motor und deren Entwicklung ist für mich ein Paradebeispiel.
 
SP: Was zeichnet für dich eine erfolgreiche Projektkultur aus?
Markus: Klarheit, Offenheit, Eigenverantwortlichkeit. Solange die drei gegeben sind, kann nicht so viel falsch laufen. Wir hatten so viele so tolle Projekte, und an dieser Stelle einfach mal “Danke” an wirklich tolle Kunden.
 
SP: Was ist für dich ein spannender Kunde?
Markus: Das Thema und die Aufgabe stehen immer im Mittelpunkt. Spaß an Projekten und Themen ergibt sich für mich eigentlich immer aus zwei Parametern: Erstens das gemeinsame Arbeiten von Kunde und Agentur. Und zweitens das Streben nach Exzellenz und danach, gemeinsam etwas Einzigartiges zu schaffen.
 
SP: Für welche Marke würdest du gerne arbeiten?
Markus: Mit jeder, die ein mutiges Ziel hat. Mit allen, die viel Spaß an dem haben, was sie tun. Alles, was mit Motorsport zu tun hat, ob Hersteller wie BMW Motorrad, KTM, Triumph oder Veranstalter wie Dorna, sind mir persönlich natürlich sehr nah.
 
SP: Warum kommst du morgens gerne zur Arbeit?
Markus: Weil geil.
 
SP: Warum sollten wir optimistisch in die Zukunft schauen?
Markus: Wir leben in einer so spannenden Zeit, zwischen Globalisierung und Digitalisierung, Reichtum und Armut, Pandemie und Politik. Es gibt so viele wichtige und tolle Themen, mit denen wir uns mutig beschäftigen müssen. Auf geht’s!
 
SP: Was bedeutet Mut für dich ganz persönlich?
Markus: Mut braucht Angst. Dann gilt es diese zu überwinden. Deshalb müssen große Visionen immer begeistern – und auch ein klein wenig Angst verursachen.

Become part of

our Team

find our open positions here