Global Brand Management

Creative Excellence.
Impressive Simplicity.

A strong brand as a

driving force for success

DHL is one of the world’s most valuable brands. The Deutsche Post DHL Group with more than 550,000 employees and countless touchpoints in over 220 countries, has the goal of enhancing its global brand performance using a smart, intuitive brand management system. After all, it is clear that brands make a substantial contribution to a company’s success.* Together, we have made its brand management more efficient and sustainable by means of targeted simplification and the opportunities offered by artificial intelligence.

A new chapter in global brand management.

*According to a study by PWC, up to 50% of the enterprise value is attributable to the value of the brand, also known as the brand contribution. Strong brands even have a positive influence on the share value.

01Overview

Efficiency in

brand management

We had a clear task for this project: To simplify the brand design and enhance the brand performance. For this purpose, together we systematically digitalised the brand, added more emotional appeal to DHL’s imagery and gave artificial intelligence the role of saving time and money in the design process. This gave rise to more than just advanced brand management: A new, digital home for the brand that acts as a global interface and, supported by AI, ensures that DHL employees around the world can keep their work very much on brand.

Brand and people – ready for a successful future.

02Strategy

“Developing an AI-based design system was a first for us, too. Are we putting ourselves out of business with this? On the contrary. We can focus on our strengths: finding creative and surprising solutions for the next challenge.”

Prof. Jochen Rädeker,
Founder & Partner
Strichpunkt

Hello Future: Moving to

AI-supported design

Strichpunkt has developed the first layout creator for DHL. An AI-based tool that enables employees worldwide to create layouts simply and intuitively. For example, the layout creator can choose from up to 10¹⁵ different layout versions in the design process. The result for users: Quality. Efficiency. Independence from agencies. A consistent brand identity. Worldwide.

Welcome to the future of global brand communications.

03Layout Creator

“The layout creator enables colleagues to design media themselves, produces results that are always on brand, and makes us more effective. This is not only fun, but also saves time and money.”

Arjan Sissing,
Senior Vice President Group Brand Marketing
Deutsche Post DHL Group

Global brand management:

The DPDHL Group Brand Hub

The layout creator is part of the DPDHL group brand hub – the new, digital home for efficient brand management. This tool provides intuitive, straightforward access to the brand design. It inspires its users with easily comprehensible design guides and lots of interactive examples, and provides users around the world with everything they need for their day-to-day work, from the logo to the digital component.

A brand hub that allows for perfect brand design with plenty of freedom and scope for creativity.

04Brand Hub

The new

simplicity

To simplify the existing brand design, we started our thought process in the digital arena and then developed a modular, seamlessly scalable design system on this basis. Digital applications are now an integral part of the corporate design, the brand personality is conveyed in new, more emotional imagery, and a unique corporate typeface has been developed. This represents a practical, state-of-the-art development with more flexibility and a system that is effective both internally and externally.

Creative Excellence. Impressive Simplicity.

05Simplification

A brand with

personality

Redefined, emotional imagery as the basis for creative concepts gives rise to a new form of communication. With more warmth and emotion, a high degree of independence, and modern imagery style that places a clear focus on “you”, meaning on people. And it is real people who are involved, with employees becoming brand ambassadors in photo shoots and videos.

Positive moments that convey a trustworthy and authentic image of the brand all around the world.

DHL in every language:

The new typeface

As of now, DHL has its own corporate typeface. Developed specially for Deutsche Post, DHL and the DPDHL Group, this typeface has the fitting name “Delivery” and offers ideal conditions for a uniform image and a strong brand identity. Optimised in detail for digital and print use, Delivery is equally convincing in Latin, Greek, Cyrillic and Arabic.

Designing brand messages has never been so simple. Or so attractive. Or reader-friendly. Or clear. Or saved so much space.

small
big
Hello, I'm Delivery - try me!
Black Condensed is the brand defining font style used for headlines.

Strong

together

The brand identity of DHL and the DPDHL Group is now based on one brand design system that makes day-to-day work much easier. Elements such as the interface design kit can be used for all digital applications. It is also easy to adapt many other media forms – so easy that it is often just a matter of swapping the logo and the font colour.

More recognition value for customers and investors.

“For years, DHL has been one of the world’s most valuable brands*. This result is based on more than just numbers: It also rates the strength that we have in the minds of consumers. Nowadays, brand strategy is inextricably linked with corporate strategy.”

Arjan Sissing,
Senior Vice President Group Brand Marketing
Deutsche Post DHL Group

*WPP BrandZ™ Top100 Most Valuable Brands 2019

OSRAMBRAND COMMUNICATION

OSRAM

ON Magazine

2017/18

ANDRITZBrand Communication

ANDRITZ

Engineered Success

2018

Globales Brand Management

Creative Excellence.
Impressive Simplicity.

Eine starke Marke als

Treiber des Erfolgs

Die DHL gehört zu den wertvollsten Marken der Welt. Die Deutsche Post DHL Group mit mehr als 550.000 Mitarbeitern und unzähligen Touchpoints in mehr als 220 Ländern hat das Ziel, mit einem intelligenten, intuitiven Brand Management System die weltweite Brand Performance zu steigern. Denn klar ist, Marken leisten einen erheblichen Beitrag zum Unternehmenserfolg.* Gemeinsam haben wir mit gezielter Vereinfachung und den Möglichkeiten künstlicher Intelligenz, die Steuerung der Marken effizienter und zukunftsfähiger gemacht.

Ein neues Kapitel im Bereich der globalen Markenführung.

*Laut einer Studie von PWC lassen sich bis zu 50% des Unternehmenswertes auf den Wert der Marke zurückführen, auch Brand Contribution genannt. Selbst auf den Aktienwert haben starke Marken positiven Einfluss.

01Overview

Die Effizienz der

Markenführung

Wir hatten für dieses Projekt eine klare Aufgabe: Das Brand Design zu vereinfachen und die Brand Performance zu steigern. Gemeinsam haben wir die Marke konsequent digitalisiert, die Markenpersönlichkeit von DHL weiter emotionalisiert und: künstlicher Intelligenz eine zeit- und kostensparende Rolle im Gestaltungsprozess gegeben. Entstanden ist mehr als nur fortschrittliche Markenführung weltweit. Ein neues, digitales Zuhause der Marke, das wie ein Betriebssystem als globale Schnittstelle fungiert und, unterstützt von AI, DHL Mitarbeiter rund um den Globus befähigt, “on brand” zu arbeiten und zu gestalten.

Marke und Mensch – bereit für eine erfolgreiche Zukunft.

02Strategy

„Ein KI-basiertes Designsystem zu entwickeln, war auch für uns eine Premiere. Machen wir uns damit überflüssig? Im Gegenteil. Wir können uns auf unsere Stärken konzentrieren: kreative und überraschende Lösungen für die nächste Herausforderung zu finden.”

Prof. Jochen Rädeker,
Founder & Partner
Strichpunkt

Hello Future: Unterwegs zu

AI-gestütztem Design

Strichpunkt hat für DHL den ersten Layout Creator entwickelt. Ein AI-basiertes Tool, das Mitarbeiter weltweit befähigt, ganz einfach und intuitiv hochwertige Layouts zu erstellen. So kann der Layout Creator zum Beispiel im Gestaltungsprozess aus bis zu 10¹⁵ Layout-Varianten wählen. Das Ergebnis für die Benutzer: Qualität. Effizienz. Unabhängigkeit von Agenturen. Ein konsistenter Markenauftritt weltweit.

Willkommen in der Zukunft globaler Markenkommunikation.

03Layout Creator

“Der Layout Creator befähigt Kollegen selbst Medien zu gestalten, liefert Ergebnisse die immer "on brand" sind und macht uns effektiver. Das macht nicht nur Spaß, sondern wird Zeit und Geld sparen.”

Arjan Sissing,
Senior Vice President Group Brand Marketing
Deutsche Post DHL Group

Globales Brand Management:

der DPDHL Group Brand Hub

Der Layout Creator ist Bestandteil des DPDHL Group Brand Hubs – dem neuen, digitalen Zuhause zur effizienten Steuerung der Marke. Dieses Tool erlaubt einen intuitiven, leicht verständlichen Zugang zum Brand Design. Es inspiriert seine Nutzer mit einfach zu erfassenden Design Guides und vielen interaktiven Beispielen und stellt vom Logo bis zur digitalen Komponente alles bereit, was die weltweiten Anwender in ihrer täglichen Arbeit unterstützt.

Ein Brand Hub, der mit viel Freiheit und Raum für Kreativität perfekte Markengestaltung erlaubt.

04Brand Hub

Die neue

Einfachheit

Für die Vereinfachung des bestehenden Brand Designs haben wir unser Denken im digitalen Raum begonnen und von hier ein modulares, nahtlos skalierbares Design System entwickelt. Digitale Anwendungen sind jetzt ein integraler Teil des Corporate Design, die Brand Personality wurde in eine neue, emotionalere Bildsprache übersetzt, eine eigene Corporate Type entwickelt. Eine sinnvolle und zeitgemäße Weiterentwicklung mit mehr Flexibilität und ein System, das nach innen und außen wirkt.

Creative Excellence. Impressive Simplicity.

05Simplification

Eine Marke mit

Persönlichkeit

Eine neu definierte, emotionale Bildsprache als Basis kreativer Konzepte, lässt eine neue Form der Kommunikation entstehen. Mit mehr Emotionalität und Wärme, hoher Eigenständigkeit und einem modernen Bildstil, die das “You”, den Menschen, klar in den Fokus rückt. Übrigens die echten Menschen: Für Shootings und Drehs werden Mitarbeiter zu Markenbotschaftern.

Positive Momente, die rund um den Globus ein vertrauenswürdiges und authentisches Bild der Marke transportieren.

In jeder Sprache DHL:

die neue Schrift

DHL ist ab sofort mit einer eigenen Konzernschrift unterwegs. Eigens entwickelt für Deutsche Post, DHL und die DPDHL Group, trägt sie den passenden Namen Delivery und liefert beste Voraussetzungen für ein einheitliches Erscheinungsbild und starke Markenauftritte. Bis ins Detail für Digital und Print optimiert, überzeugt Delivery auch in Latin, Greek, Cyrillic oder Arabic.

Markenbotschaften zu gestalten war noch nie so einfach. Und schön. Und lesefreundlich. Und klar. Und platzsparend.

small
big
Hello, I'm Delivery - try me!
Black Condensed is the brand defining font style used for headlines.

Gemeinsam

stark

Der Markenauftritt von DHL und DPDHL Group basiert jetzt auf einem Brand Design System, was die tägliche Arbeit erheblich erleichtert: Elemente wie das Interface Design Kit können für sämtliche digitalen Anwendungen verwendet werden. Auch viele andere Medien lassen sich einfach adaptieren. So einfach, das oft nur noch Logo und Schriftfarbe ausgetauscht werden müssen.

Mehr Wiedererkennbarkeit für Kunden und Investoren.

“DHL ist seit Jahren eine der wertvollsten Marken weltweit*. Dieses Ergebnis basiert auf mehr als nur Zahlen: Es bewertet auch die Kraft, die wir in den Köpfen der Verbraucher haben. Markenstrategie ist heute untrennbar mit Unternehmensstrategie verbunden.”

Arjan Sissing,
Senior Vice President Group Brand Marketing
Deutsche Post DHL Group

*WPP BrandZ™ Top100 Most Valuable Brands 2019

OSRAMBRAND COMMUNICATION

OSRAM

ON Magazin

2017/18

ANDRITZBrand Communication

ANDRITZ

Engineered Success

2018