Freedom


Brand design, brand experience, brand transformation.

01Overview

Freedom

begins in your head.

In a confusingly complex world dominated by shouty opinion leaders and fake news, nothing is more important than guidance and the courage to make up your own mind. Guided by the mission to uphold democracy with which the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung has shaped Germany’s journalistic landscape for the past 70 years, this publishing house with its rich tradition is now moving into the future – with a sophisticated portfolio of digital and print newspapers, new magazines, news portals, and services.

The clear positioning of the Frankfurter Allgemeine is what underpins its new brand identity and a brand experience that looks to the future:

Because news is not a commodity.

Taking this idea as our starting point, we developed the new brand design and brand experience of a strong publishing brand that reflects the mission of its editorial team and the lives of its readers: More than any other German media brand, the Frankfurter Allgemeine stands for a plurality of opinions, in-depth expertise, and the quality of its objective, level-headed analyses:

Freedom begins in your head.

Einführende Szenen von Al Dente Entertainment
02Transformation

Time for

change.

...from the icon of journalism to an iconic brand and an immersive brand experience. An inspiring spatial installation, improvised playfully in an empty wing of the publishing house’s main building, became the nucleus of this change. Inside this new room, christened “FreiRaum 490,” we created a participatory, hands-on workshop format that brings the Frankfurter Allgemeine brand to life. After all, change requires everyone to pull together.

A space for free thinking. The workshop for crafting the future – in small teams. Collaborative. Vibrant.

03Design

Freedom

begins with F.

The letter “F” is to become the brand icon and an expression of its liberal stance: self-conscious, unique, prominent, with rough edges. We reworked the Frankfurter Allgemeine logo – sensitively, yet extensively – into a strong umbrella brand and put it at the heart of a clearly structured, forward-looking brand family to form the basis for a distinct, high-quality brand identity with its roots firmly in the realities of everyday life.

With a powerful brand color and striking typography. With a clear stylistic idiom and new imagery that reflects the world we live in. We developed a simple principle applied flexibly across all media and formats:

Modular design – open to a wide variety of future applications and areas of use.

Within six months, the new brand identity had produced numerous prototypes and projects. The new brand design identity was unveiled to the general public at the first F.A.Z. Congress, and the new umbrella brand campaign was launched at the same time:

With clear messages. With values. With a distinct stance.

Say hi!Contact

Your brand

needs us?

Wherever you are, wherever you are headed - it’s time to get started.
Say hi!

T +49 711 620327-32
c.bontas@sp.design

Carmen Bontas

Executive Assistant

ProgroupBrand Design

Progroup

Powerplayer

DeloitteBrand Communication

Deloitte

Resonance 2019

Freiheit


Brand Design, Brand Experience, Brand Transformation.

01Überblick

Freiheit

beginnt im Kopf.

In einer unüberschaubar komplexen Welt, die von lauten Meinungsmachern und Fake News geprägt wird, ist nichts wichtiger als Orientierung und der Mut zur eigenen Meinung. Geleitet von dem demokratischen Anspruch, durch den die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung seit 70 Jahren die deutsche Publizistik prägt, bewegt sich der traditionsreiche Verlag in die Zukunft – mit einem anspruchsvollen Portfolio digitaler und gedruckter Zeitungen, neuer Magazine, Nachrichtenportale und Services.

Die klare Positionierung der Frankfurter Allgemeine ist die Basis für den neuen Markenauftritt und für ein zukunftsweisendes Markenerlebnis:

Weil eine Nachricht keine Ware ist.

Mit diesem Anspruch entwickelten wir das neue Brand Design und die Brand Experience einer starken Verlagsmarke, die den Anspruch der Redaktion und die Lebenswelt der Leser reflektiert: Wie keine andere deutsche Medienmarke steht die Frankfurter Allgemeine für den Pluralismus der Meinungen, für fundierte Kompetenz und für die Qualität ihrer objektiven und besonnenen Analysen:

Freiheit beginnt im Kopf.

Einführende Szenen von Al Dente Entertainment
02Transformation

Zeit für

Veränderung.

... von der publizistischen Ikone zu einer ikonischen Marke und zu einem involvierenden Markenerlebnis. Eine spielerisch improvisierte und inspirierende Rauminstallation in einem leerstehenden Trakt des Verlagsgebäudes wurde zur Keimzelle des Wandels. Im neuen FreiRaum 490 gestalteten wir ein partizipatives und involvierendes Workshop-Format, das die Marke Frankfurter Allgemeine erlebbar macht. Denn der Wandel gelingt nur gemeinsam.

Ein Raum für freies Denken. Die Werkstatt in der die Zukunft entsteht – in kleinen Teams. Kollaborativ. Lebendig.

03Design

Freiheit

beginnt mit F.

Das Initial wird zur Ikone der Marke und zum Ausdruck ihrer freiheitlichen Haltung – selbstbewusst, einzigartig, profiliert, mit Ecken und Kanten. Wir entwickelten den sensibel, aber umfassend überarbeiteten, Schriftzug Frankfurter Allgemeine zur starken Dachmarke und zum Kern einer klar strukturierten und zukunftsoffenen Markenfamile – die Basis eines qualitätvollen, individuellen und konsequent lebensweltlichen Markenauftritts.

Mit einer kraftvollen Markenfarbe und einer markanten Typografie. Mit einer klaren Formensprache und mit einer neuen, lebensweltlichen Bildwelt. Wir entwickelten ein einfaches Prinzip, das über alle Medien und Formate flexibel angewandt wird:

Modulares Design – offen für eine breite Vielfalt zukünftiger Anwendungen und Einsatzgebiete.

In sechs Monaten entstanden aus dem neuen Markenauftritt zahlreiche prototypische Umsetzungen und Projekte. Im Rahmen des ersten F.A.Z. Kongress wurde das die neue Brand Design Identity erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Zeitgleich startete auch die neue Dachmarkenkampagne:

Mit klaren Botschaften. Mit Werten. Mit Haltung.

Say hi!Kontakt

Ihre Marke

braucht uns?

Wo immer Sie gerade stehen, wo immer Sie hinwollen – es ist Zeit, loszulegen.
Say hi!

T +49 711 620327-32
c.bontas@sp.design

Carmen Bontas

Executive Assistant

ProgroupBrand Design

Progroup

Powerplayer

Progroup

DeloitteBrand Communication

Deloitte

Resonance 2019