How to brand responsi­bility.

Content-driven Brand Design

01Overview

A Narrative can be

powerful.

Higher, faster, further. Few industries pursue those goals quite as fiercely as e-commerce. But when everything is available anywhere, any time, and when little else matters except price and speed, how do brands manage to stand out from the crowd? What do they actually stand for? And how long can they make it work?

The Otto Group has always been an advocate of doing business responsibly and demonstrates that being successful in the corporate world and maintaining a strong set of values are not mutually exclusive – quite the contrary, in fact.

'Doing business sustainably to protect the environment and the climate is becoming something of a "licence to operate" for companies.'

Alexander Birken
CEO of the Otto Group

Responsibility and performance are cornerstones of the company's brand identity, and now also the basis for its new branding. A values-based, modern and likeable look that brings the purpose of the Otto Group to life through wide-ranging and entertaining narrative content, with the theme of

Responsible Commerce that inspires.

How sustainable does your brand communicate?

Become a Sustainable Champion now!

02Content

Setting the Stage for

the Content.

Responsibility is not a tangible object. Responsibility is an attitude expressed in the subjects for which a brand provides space.

That is why the Otto Group's brand identity is brought to life primarily by the new imagery comprising a varied array of narrative illustrations and powerful visual themes that put people and humanity front and centre. They underpin the compelling stories about the brand and its attitude at a visual level, evoke powerful and positive gut feelings, attract attention and demonstrate diversity. They also entertain and inspire and, in so doing, lend an authentic face – sometimes many faces – to the theme of 'Responsible commerce that inspires'. The basic elements of the corporate design, such as the logo and font, are somewhat restrained to allow them to act as a stripped-down stage for the multi-faceted content.

The new ottogroup.com website has become a central communication hub for the entire corporate group and combines storytelling formats with clearly written facts. The stand-alone visual assets for all the most important meta themes relating to environmental and social responsibility, new work, cultural change and e-commerce are used liberally and prompt an emotional response to the world of the Otto Group.

ottogroup.com

'
03Brand Design

Clarity fosters Understanding and

Accessibility.

The combination of clarity and structure in a layout with wide-ranging narrative visual content is the idea behind the brand identity. It has allowed the values and identity of the Otto Group to be translated directly into visuals and brought to life.

A design system with simple rules. Easy to understand, recognisable and adaptable to all kinds of media. The welcoming logo, which merges the letters O and G to create one powerful symbol, integrates the Otto Group's open approach to culture and working methods directly into its trademark. The brand's established colour of red, a font named Optimist designed specifically for the Otto Group and simple lines act as unambiguous brand codes and help to shape the overall look. At the same time, there is plenty of room for the substance. That creates a flexible and yet functional framework for content and storytelling.

The digital brand portal provides a quick way of seeing how the design system works and provides guidance in the form of educational video tutorials. It makes all the key brand assets accessible and simplifies brand management across the entire corporate group.

brand.ottogroup.com

Project inquiries

Let's talk!

Wherever you are, wherever you are headed - it’s time to get started.
Say hi!

T +49 711 620327-0
t.wolfram@sp.design

Tatjana Wolfram

Customer Relationship Management

O2 TelefónicaEmployer Branding

O2 Telefónica

O2 Telefónica

BoschBrand Communication

Bosch

Bosch Megatrend Report M12

How to brand responsi­bility.

Content-driven Brand Design

01Überblick

Die Kraft liegt im

Narrativ.

Höher, schneller, weiter. Das gilt in kaum einer Branche so sehr wie im E-Commerce. Wenn aber alles immer und überall verfügbar ist, wenn allein der Preis bestimmt und die Geschwindigkeit, wie schaffen es Marken sich voneinander zu differenzieren? Für was stehen sie eigentlich? Und wie lange kann das überhaupt noch gut gehen?

Die Otto Group steht seit jeher für verantwortungsvolles Wirtschaften und zeigt, dass sich unternehmerischer Erfolg und ein starker Wertekodex nicht ausschließen – im Gegenteil.

“Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften zum Schutz der Umwelt und des Klimas wird für Unternehmen zur „Licence to operate“.”

Alexander Birken
CEO Otto Group

Verantwortung und Performance als Pfeiler der Markenidentität bilden nun auch die Grundlage für den neuen Markenauftritt. Ein wertebasiertes, modernes und zugleich sympathisches Erscheinungsbild, das den Purpose der Otto Group insbesondere durch unterhaltsamen, vielfältigen Content erzählerisch zum Leben erweckt:

Responsible Commerce that inspires.

Wie nachhaltig kommuniziert deine Marke?

Jetzt Sustainable Champion werden!

02Content

Eine Bühne für

Content.

Verantwortung hat keine Gestalt. Verantwortung ist eine Haltung, die in den Themen zum Ausdruck kommt, denen man als Marke Raum gibt.

Der Markenauftritt der Otto Group lebt deshalb in erster Linie durch die neue Bildwelt aus vielfältigen, erzählerischen Illustrationen und starken Bildmotiven, die den Menschen und das Menschliche in den Mittelpunkt stellen. Sie stützen die starken Geschichten rund um die Marke und ihrer Haltung auf visueller Ebene, erzeugen ein positiv kraftvolles Grundgefühl, schaffen Aufmerksamkeit und zeigen Vielfalt. Und sie unterhalten, sie inspirieren und geben auf diese Weise dem Purpose “Responsible Commerce that inspires” ein bzw. viele authentische Gesichter. Die Basiselemente des Corporate Designs wie Logo und Schrift sind eher zurückhaltend angelegt, um als ruhige Bühne für die vielfältigen Inhalte agieren zu können.

Die neue Website ottogroup.com wird zum zentralen Kommunikations-Hub der gesamten Unternehmensgruppe und kombiniert Storytelling-Formate mit klaren Fakten. Die eigenständigen Visual Assets zu allen wichtigen Metathemen rund um ökologische und soziale Verantwortung, New Work, Kulturwandel und E-Commerce werden großzügig eingesetzt und schaffen emotionalen Zugang zur Themenwelt der Otto Group.

ottogroup.com

'
03Brand Design

Klarheit schafft Zugang und

Orientierung.

Die Kombination aus Klarheit und Struktur im Layout mit vielfältigen, erzählerischen Bildwelten – das ist die Idee hinter dem Markenauftritt. So werden die Werte, die Identität der Otto Group, unmittelbar ins Visuelle übersetzt und erlebbar.

Ein Design-System mit einfachen Regeln. Schnell erfassbar, wiedererkennbar und adaptiv für alle Formen der medialen Ausspielung. Das freundliche Logo, das die Buchstaben O und G in einem Superzeichen vereint, integriert die Offenheit in Kultur und Arbeitsweise der Otto Group direkt in das Markenzeichen. Die bekannte Markenfarbe Rot, eine eigens für die Otto Group gezeichnete Schrift namens Optimist und eine simple Linienführung als eindeutige Brand Codes prägen darüber hinaus das Erscheinungsbild. Gleichzeitig bleibt genug Raum für die Inhalte. So entsteht ein flexibles und zugleich funktionales Framework für Content und Storytelling.

Das digitale Brandportal zeigt auf einen Blick, wie das Design-System funktioniert und bietet Orientierung durch edukative Video-Tutorials. Es schafft Zugang zu allen wichtigen Brand Assets und vereinfacht das Brandmanagement über die gesamte Unternehmensgruppe hinweg.

brand.ottogroup.com

Projektanfragen

Let's talk!

Wo immer Sie gerade stehen, wo immer Sie hinwollen – es ist Zeit, loszulegen.
Say hi!

T +49 711 620327-0
t.wolfram@sp.design

Tatjana Wolfram

Customer Relationship Management

METROEmployer Branding

METRO

METRO Fundamentals