Men's
national team

DFB

01Overview

Kickoff for a

new era of design

The national team’s image obtains fresh contours, more emotion and an even closer relationship with fans. New challenges and an altered strategic direction bring new brand values to the fore. This updated tonality also affects the expectations of the corporate design. With their modular design system approach, Strichpunkt’s branding experts laid the foundation for current image of the German Football Association (DFB) and thus for the men’s national team back in 2016. This was unquestionably a milestone. Now, in 2023, the brand is able to reinvent itself entirely on this basis and thus forge ahead into a new era.

TOOOOOOOOR
02Design

Re

Design

One new element of the branding is a points structure that combines images with graphical elements, thus enabling unprecedented intricacy of design. Classic design elements such as the logo featuring an eagle and four stars as well as the distinctive line markings that pervade all DFB brands are left untouched, apart from the color scheme, and therefore remain strong touchpoints for the entire DFB brand universe. All design innovations illustrate the revised strategic brand values, enable even closer relationships and not least a modern direction for the future.

03Typography

Typographic

expansion

Since the redesign in 2016, DFB Sans has been a brand-defining element of the entire DFB universe. To lend the men’s national team even more individuality, the existing family has been expanded with a variable font – DFB SANS VAR ITALIC.
The new capabilities of this font make it possible to render the emotions of soccer in the design merely through typographical play. Goal celebrations, crowd waves, and dynamic play are captured in the typography both statically and in animation.
As well as the additional opportunities for emotive design, the variable font also offers maximum flexibility, especially in view of the increasing quantity of digital touchpoints.

Variable font

Emotional

Deutschland

Functional

DFB SANS regular

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
1234567890 !”§$%&/()=,.;:-—

DFB SANS bold

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
1234567890 !”§$%&/()=,.;:-—

„The redesign centers on the black, red and gold of the German flag. Together with the newly developed, variable font, it enables a flexible and above all an emotive use of the design system at all touchpoints.“

Tobias Held
Senior Art Director (Strichpunkt)

Project inquiries

Let's talk!

Wherever you are, wherever you are headed - it’s time to get started.
Say hi!

T +49 711 620327-0
t.wolfram@sp.design

Tatjana Wolfram

Customer Relationship Management

METROEmployer Branding

METRO

METRO Fundamentals

Männer-
Nationalmannschaft

DFB

01Overview

Der Anpfiff für eine

neue Ära im Design

Der Auftritt der Nationalmannschaft erhält frische Konturen, mehr Emotionalität und noch mehr Fannähe. Neue Anforderungen und eine geänderte strategische Ausrichtung rücken neue Markenwerte in den Fokus. Diese aktualisierte Tonalität wirkt sich auch auf den Anspruch ans Corporate Design aus. Mit ihrem Ansatz des modularen Design-Systems haben die Branding-Experten von Strichpunkt bereits 2016 den Grundstein für das heutige Erscheinungsbild des Deutschen Fußball-Bundes und damit der Männer-Nationalmannschaft gelegt. Fraglos ein Meilenstein. Jetzt, 2023, kann sich die Marke auf dieser Basis ganz neu erfinden und damit den Weg in eine neue Ära bestreiten.

TOOOOOOOOR
02Design

Re

Design

Ein neues Element des Brandings bildet eine Punktestruktur, die Bildinhalte mit Grafikelementen verknüpft und dadurch eine ungekannte Vielschichtigkeit im Design ermöglicht. Klassische Designelemente wie das Logo mit dem Adler und den vier Sternen, sowie die markanten Spielfeldlinien, die sich durch alle DFB-Marken ziehen, bleiben bis auf die Farben unangetastet und damit auch in Zukunft starke Anknüpfungspunkte an den gesamten DFB-Markenkosmos. Alle Design-Neuerungen verdeutlichen die überarbeiteten strategischen Markenwerte, ermöglichen noch mehr Nahbarkeit und nicht zuletzt eine moderne Ausrichtung für die Zukunft.

03Typographie

Typographie

Erweiterung

Die DFB Sans ist seit dem Redesign im Jahr 2016 markenprägendes Element des gesamten DFB Kosmos. Um der Männer-Nationalmannschaft noch mehr Eigenständigkeit zu verleihen, wurde die bisherige Familie um einen variablen Font – die DFB SANS VAR ITALIC – erweitert.
Mit Hilfe der neuen Möglichkeiten, die dieser Font bietet ist es möglich alleine über das typografische Spiel die Emotionen des Fußballs in die Gestaltung zu übersetzen. Torjubel, Laola-Wellen und die Dynamik im Spiel werden statisch sowie animiert in der Typografie aufgegriffen. Neben den zusätzlichen Möglichkeiten hinsichtlich emotionaler Gestaltung bietet der variable Font insbesondere in mit Blick auf die zunehmende Menge an digitalen Touchpoints ein Maximum an Flexibilität.

Variable Font

Emotional

Deutschland

Funktional

DFB SANS regular

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
1234567890 !”§$%&/()=,.;:-—

DFB SANS bold

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
1234567890 !”§$%&/()=,.;:-—

„Im Zentrum des Re-Designs stehen die Farben der Deutschlandflagge Schwarz-Rot-Gold. Gemeinsam mit der neu entwickelten, variablen Font wird so ein flexibler und vor allem emotionaler Umgang mit dem Designssystem an allen Touchpoints ermöglicht. “

Tobias Held
Senior Art Director (Strichpunkt)

Projektanfragen

Let's talk!

Wo immer Sie gerade stehen, wo immer Sie hinwollen – es ist Zeit, loszulegen.
Say hi!

T +49 711 620327-0
t.wolfram@sp.design

Tatjana Wolfram

Customer Relationship Management

METROEmployer Branding

METRO

METRO Fundamentals